Finally .. My Face is Out in The Open

“I can’t be anonymous anymore. This is to say that I defeated ISIS. You can see me now, and you can know me now.”

I am 31 years old.

My name is Omar Mohammed, and I am a scholar.

I told my mother that her Omar is Mosul Eye, she cried, wished she was close to me to give me hug, she said: I knew there was something going on with you!

My interview with Associated Press ..

“He packed his bag with his most treasured possessions before going to bed: the 1 terabyte hard drive with his evidence against the Islamic State group, an orange notebook half-filled with notes on Ottoman history, and, a keepsake, the first book from Amazon delivered to Mosul.

He passed the night in despair, imagining all the ways he could die, and the moment he would leave his mother and his city.

He had spent nearly his entire life in this home, with his five brothers and five sisters. He woke his mother in her bedroom on the ground floor.

“I am leaving,” he said.

“Where?” she asked.

“I am leaving,” was all he could say.

He couldn’t endanger her by telling her anything more. In truth, since the IS had invaded his city, he’d lived a life about which she was totally unaware.

He felt her eyes on the back of his neck, and headed to the waiting Chevrolet. He didn’t look back.”

Many times I lived those moments where I (as Mosul Eye) retweeted my article which was written by (Omar Mohammed), Now I can say this is me :) I am free, stronger than before, and shall always work to revive our Mosuli identity.

The rest of the interview you can find it on APNews link below:

https://t.co/9rToBaKxbf https://t.co/D8DSGoAHhE

28 comments

  1. Many in this world cannot say they looked death in the eye and survived it. Instead, it made you stronger and your persistence and strength of character to fight for what is right. It shows that morality, honor and pride for your people can work hand in hand together without violence. It took only pen and paper or, in this case, a computer and the internet for the world to see and feel what hate does to innocent people. This kind of reporting, unfortunately, is needed so those who are sheltered from the toils of war and violence cannot turn blindly away, but instead are awakened to find their own inner strength to help the cause in some way. You took a step forward, despite the threat to your life that was already lingering outside your doors, and refused to allow these atrocities to be hidden. We cannot combat or protect from that which we do not know. I am proud that this beautiful Earth has people like you living in it. It gives me hope for a better future for humanity.

  2. Wow – so inspirational. Barakallah. The courage and the love of civility is boundless. This should be a lesson for all those regressive nay sayers and anti-West haters who do not give a hoot for Arab civility and progress – who simplistically look at conflicts as just another form of western colonialism, blind to the facts that creates tragedies like Mosul. I think you have taught these anti-West haters a good lesson that Iraqis do not need their help, that Iraqis can stand on their own, and that Iraqis want to progress with the help of the free and democratic nations – to one day become as such.

  3. You arenow my new superheroe. What you managed to achieve is, well my mum was a refugee so i feel it but still cant equate it with my own experience. Only true adversity seperates the brave from the less brave.

  4. Truly u are a brave and honorable man! I’ve been reading ur posts for more than two years; i have often wondered if id be as fearless and brave as u under the same circumstances… i don’t know! But may God bless you and your fellow Mosulites as you seek to rebuild the city and repair the peace!

  5. I am so glad you survived and now can be seen.
    I remember particularly, how depressed and defeated you sounded in one of your blogs. I felt very sad and helpless because I could not help your pain. Not that I could have… Now I hope that you will experience true freedom. Freedom the most precious gift man can receive. You will never be forgotten.
    Take care friend,
    Sherrie

  6. Dear Omar Mohammed,
    it’s wonderful to put a face to your eloquent words and deeds. Your personal uncompromising bravery to post the truth again and again is indeed something to admire and take courage from as Mosul and yourself move forward.
    I hope you will continue to observe, write, post, and organize.
    My only regret is that I have not shaken your hand in respect and thanks, and said these words in person, but even that day may still find us..
    In Solidarity,
    Beau Beausoleil

  7. Thank you Omar for your commitment to humanity and your integrity. I think you now a member of those that include Nelson Mandela, Martin Luther King, Gandhi and Pope Francis.
    Blessings & Peace forever. Julia TSSF

  8. Thank you, thank you, thank you, Omar, for the updates that brought Mosul directly into my home. I am so glad I found your writings. Take care of yourself, and once again, thank you from the bottom of my heart.

  9. If only more men were as brave and insightful as you, our world would be a better place. Keep speaking. You can help change the world.

  10. Hi from India. I have a shipment of 165 books ready but the shipment co. tells me that the address given on the blog is incomplete. Pls provide the complete address, with name of the person who is going to receive the boxes ASAP. Worked really hard for the campaign.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.